Asking for Help by Greg Simony

**Greg Simony is the Founder of Care2Tri; a USA based non-for-profit that assists children and adults with CP participate in triathlon by using adaptive equipment to race with**

Is asking for help something that is difficult for you? Do you feel that by asking others for things, it makes you weak?

This is something I have struggled with for years. I was taught, “If you want something done; just do it yourself”. As I grew into adulthood, I learned that this motto probably is the best way to live, as many people talk a good game, yet when it comes down to it they don’t back up what they say they’re going to do. It really didn’t make sense to me because when people asked me to do something, I was always there for them. I held this motto and believed it to be the absolute truth. I was right 100% of the time.

So you can imagine my surprise when I recently realized how wrong I was. We are designed to thrive on relationships and people around us. Chalk this lesson up to my “friends” that I get to race with on a regular basis. Due to their physical circumstances they are forced to rely on others to help them in various ways in their life. They don’t become hardened because many people don’t help them. They remain grateful for those that are there. They don’t feel “less than” for needing help.

Upon realizing this, I was inspired to share and to ask for help. We have had the privilege and honor of racing with over 100 differently-abled athletes over the past 3 years. Locally, we have made an imprint and shown others that our teammates are people and they are like us, but you have to take the time to get to know them in order to realize this. It is my hope and my dream to take this message across the country and begin to impact thousands of people and leave a legacy beyond our years. I hope to use my voice and stand up for a group of people that are still not treated as equals.

photo of Greg and Seth (in a kayak) before starting a triathlon

Greg Simony (left) and Seth (centre) before the start of a triathlon in Florida, USA.

I am one person  and cannot do this on my own. I need your help! If finances are tight, as they are for us, please don’t stop reading, there are other ways you can get involved. The first is simply to pass our website, Twitter and Facebook information along so that others can gain awareness of our message.

Secondly, please join our Forum. The reason we created a forum is so that people would always have a place to go for help and support. We do not limit the Forum to one specific topic or concern; rather it is a place where anyone can go, with any problem and gain support.

The next way to get involved is by volunteering. We have many different ways people can help and if this is what you’re looking to do, just ask.

Lastly, we need donations. We are very limited in what we are able to do because we have not had the financial support necessary to devote our full efforts to this cause. At this point, Care2Tri is fully volunteer-driven and it is our goal to grow our reach and become a larger community. All donations are tax-deductible and can be made on our website.

Thank you for taking the time to read and hear my call for help! We appreciate your support and continued comments.

Leave a Reply

